Communities We Serve

Thessalon First Nation

Thessalon Logo

The traditional territory of Thessalon First Nation was established through extensive use and mutual recognition between Anishinaabe and communities of the area. This was recognized in the Vidal-Anderson Commission report of 1849. Thessalon First Nation's right to use the territory was recognized much earlier by the Crown in the Royal Proclamation of 1763, and in the Treaty of Niagara in 1764. The traditional territory reserved for Thessalon First Nation exists in the Lake Huron Treaty of 1850.

Serpent River First Nation

Serpent River Logo

The Serpent River First Nation is part of the unceded lands retained by the Ojibway who traditionally inhabited North Shores of the St. Mary’s River and Georgian Bay, of Northern Ontario Great Lakes Region. The Serpent River First Nation is part of the Robinson Huron Treaty, which was signed on September 5th 1850. The Serpent River First Nation is also known as Cutler or in the recent past as Kenabutch (sic). For the past three decades, traditionalist have preferred the Ojibway titles as Genaabaajing and Chi Gebebek Ziibibg Anishnabek.

Sagamok Anishnawbek

Sagamok Anishnawbek Image

Sagamok Anishnawbek, whose names means ‘two parts joining’ is located approximately 120 kilometers west of Sudbury. Sagamok’s culture and language is Anishnawbek and is made up of the Ojibwe, Odawa and Pottawatomi tribes. Also known as the Three Fires People - Sagamok is a place of rich stories, legends and history that derive from time immemorial.

Once the summer camps of the original peoples who came down from Biscotasing, it is now the permanent home to many of those descendants. Sagamok is an ancestor-based village that is known for its diversity, prosperity and growth.

Mississauga First Nation

Mississaugi Logo

Mississauga First Nation is signatory to the Robinson Huron Treaty of 1850 and resides within its traditional territory. The community is located at the mouth of the river which shared its name, The Mississaugi. Spoken in the Anishnaabemowin language, it is Misswezhaging, which means “many outlets”. Although the community is located with the “reserve” boundary, the Traditional Territory extends towards the Huron Watershed.

Garden River First Nation

Garden River Logo

Garden River First Nation is an Ojibway First Nation in northern Ontario, Canada. The Garden River First Nation Reserve was created as a legal entity in 1850 with the signing of the Robinson Huron Treaty. Prior to the signing of the Robinson Huron Treaty, the Ojibways of Garden River occupied the entire areas of Sault Ste. Marie and Echo Bay. Garden River First Nation was represented in the Treaty by Shingwaukonse, who was generally recognized as an Ojibwe grand chief by other bands in both the Lake Huron and Lake Superior watersheds.

Batchewana First Nation

Batchewana First Nation Administration Office

The Batchewana First Nation of Ojibways is an Anishnaabe community located near present day Sault Ste. Marie. Their traditional lands run along the eastern shore of Lake Superior, from Batchewana Bay to Whitefish Island. They were reserved this land in the 1850 Robinson Huron Treaty, but surrendered most of it under the 1859 Pennefather Treaty. Through purchase and land claims, it has reclaimed some traditional territories, including the distinct communities of Goulais Bay 15A, Obadjiwan 15E, Rankin Location 15D and Whitefish Island.

Atikameksheng Anishnawbek

Atikameksheng Logo

Atikameksheng Anishnawbek, formerly known as the Whitefish Lake First Nation, is an Ojibway First Nation in northern Ontario, Canada. Atikameksheng Anishnawbek are descendants of the Ojibway, Algonquin and Odawa Nations. Atikameksheng Anishnawbek membership is maintained by the Aboriginal Affairs & Northern Development (AANDC) under Section 11 of the Indian Act.